continental drift 4/26/23

Hello and welcome back to continental drift! This is my third to last episode, and the second leg of my “farewell tour” of sorts that kicked off in Fiji last week. This week, we are in Mexico! Find the playlist here

The United Mexican States is a country in southern North America bordering the US, the Gulf of Mexico, the Pacific Ocean, and Guatemala and Belize. It is the 13th largest country in the world by area and the tenth most populated with its population of 126 million. Mexico is ranked fifth in natural biodiversity: remember #2?

It has no official languages, but does recognize Spanish and 68 amerindian languages in the country. 

Due to its proximity to the US, the prevalence of Spanish speakers in the US, and the inclusion of english in Mexican music, Latin music, much of it from Mexico, is growing faster than the overall US music  market. 

Classical guitar music is a popular genre often associated with Mexico. The classical guitar used in this kind of music is sometimes called a Spanish guitar, and features a wooden instrument with nylon strings, rather than steel strings. These are derived from Spanish vihuela and gittern instruments from the 1400s. 

Work by Mexican artist Maria Medem

Guitarra segment:
Piensa en Mi // Los Poetas De La Guitarra
Esperanza // Hermanos Gutierrez

Bolero is a form of trova music that was created in Cuba in the late 1800s. Lyrically, it draws not from European opera/canzone, but instead romantic folk poetry from Latin America. It quickly spread to the rest of Latin America, including Mexico. Bolero also was part of the latin influence on African rhumba, and was even popular in Vietnam for some time. 

Bolero Mexicano segment:
Candilejas // Trio Delfines
Talisman // Antonio Badu
Espumas // Yolanda Y Su Trio Perla Negra

Mexico is credited by some with introducing brass into jazz music.

Jazz Sample:
Amanceres // Los Músicos De José

Indie music has been blossoming in Mexico, and a growing movement is developing the scene in the Yucatan peninsula. According to Sureste Records president Alejandro Castilla Pinto, “unifying the peninsula is an objective many of us have had for years. There’s Indie Fest out in Campeche and lots of studios and bookers in Cancún and Chetumal, so the idea has always been to create a circuit independent of México City.”

In Caloncho’s album Balsamo he explores music as a mother figure. Composed partially in India, it also takes inspiration from the Dalai Lama’s teachings on positive thinking.

▷ Caloncho | Tickets Concerts and Tours 2023 2024 - Wegow


Indie segment:
Fotosíntesis // Caloncho
Háblame // Chicano Batman, Caloncho
Menta // Melted Ice Cream
Lo que tú me das // Juanpalitochinos
Cuando // Ruzzi

Women are at the forefront of pop and rock music in Mexico today. They are often incorporating “zany satire” in their lyrics, “reinvigorating and expanding the limits of rock ‘n’ roll armed with buzzing guitars, an irreverent sense of humor, and little patience for stale, boy’s club antics.” 

Maria Medem

Misc Modern:
Mis Mejores Poses // EMJA
Chill // Miranda Santizo
Templos // CLUBZ
Cuando // Ruzzi
Mezcal // Nina Dioz, Hispana

100 wreks #52

Thanks for listening to the last 100 wreks episode of the semester! Here’s tonights tracklist:

Why Can't It Be You - moistbreezy
Lunch - Maude Latour

ANGEL'S THOUGHTS - Frost Children
prism -

Bozo bozo bozo - underscores
lol. (feat. Jedwill + wishlane) [prod. wishlane + draf] - Left At London
never let you leave - kmoe

rest (with mental) [prod. rippo + deadat18] - arid
fall like a leaf - i9bonsai
exit life (prod. siem spark + 5head) - funeral

moonlessnight - caro
Dragonflies - Broken Spear + Sluurpee
To Find Connection (feat. Plastic Pet + Ari Liloia) - estle

Domino (easyFun Remix) - Jessie J

cloud 9 - donatachi

meltdown – tagabow – 4/24/2023

this week loko came in and we went all geeky on the nu-philly shoegaze scene

mode8 #29: What I’m Calling “Breakcore”

This week’s episode is all about vaguely jungle/breakcore, made from a set of tracks inspired by Wario Land 4’s sound design and unreleased Pokemon tracks. Enjoy!

Youtube Playlist!

Title // Bomberman World
Oregano UFO // Pizza Tower
Star // Mario Kart 64 on Club Circuit
Toxic Landfill // Wario Land 4
STEVEN STONE // Pokémon Ruby & Sapphire 
Document // Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance 
USA, NYC, Times Square // Smash Court 2 
Silvery Landscape // Tricky Sliders
Wario Land 4 // Hurry Up!
Track 3 (CD Quality) // Sheep Raider OST
Strength of a Gym Leader // Pokémon FireRed & LeafGreen 
Thrashard In The Cave // Castlevania Chronicles
Splattack! (Octo) // Splatoon 2: Octo Expansion
Team Rocket Hideout // Pokémon FireRed & LeafGreen
Overhead (instrumental) // Friday Night Funkin’ V.S. Whitty
Titanic Tower Act 3 — Funk Fiction

continental drift 4/19/23- fiji

Welcome back to continental drift! This week is the start to what is likely to be the last month I will host drift. Kicking off my farewell tour is our first stop, Fiji. Listen to the playlist here

The Republic of Fiji is an island country in Melanesia, a subregion of oceania in the southwestern pacific ocean. Fiji is actually an archipelago containing around 330 islands, of which ⅓ are inhabited. Its main islands are Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, where ~87% of the population lives. That being said, under a million people live in Fiji, and it is the 161st most populated country. It’s official languages are English, Fijian, and Fiji Hindi. The name “Fiji” comes from the name of the main island Viti Levu.

Though Fiji is located in the Melanesian region of oceania, its musical style more closely resembles Polynesian music. Folk music often includes stringed instruments like guitar, ukulele, and mandolin, and also percussion such as lali drums. The lali drum is made of wood and features a slit in the middle. They were traditionally used as a form of communication to announce births, deaths, wars, and other important happenings. 

Wooden lali

The Lali Drum

Meke segment:
Vei Yanu Yanu // Rewasese Entertainment Group
Ni Sa Bula // Rewasese Entertainment Group
Mumu Mai // World Geographic Explorer

Other traditional:
Kauti Au Ena Vakacegu // Vatulawa Trio (city on Vanua levu)
Au Bau Via Talanoa // Naselesele village group (taveuni island)

Just kinda old:
Hey Nice Bola // Vinaka
Isa Lei Toga // Fijian Teachers Choir Association

Pacific music legend Daniel Rae Costello dies | RNZ News

Daniel Rae Costello

Vude is a newer genre out of Fiji that combines elements of disco, folk, meke, rock, reggae, and jazz to create its distinctive sound. 

Daniel Rae Costello had an illustrious career spanning 4 decades 1979-2008. He was not only a singer but also a songwriter, composer, audio engineer, and producer. Laisa Vulakoro is known as the queen of vude. 

Vude segment:
Jungle Walk // Daniel Rae Castillo
E Dua Na Siga // Laisa Vulakoro

Laisa Vulakoro | SpotifyFijian band Nasio Domoni, active since 2005, started in the vude scene before transitioning to more electronic stuff. 

Newer stuff:
Lady Malo // Josateki Wainiqolo
Drau Sa Moce Lei Adi // Simi Rova
Senikakala // Nasio Domoni
Medu Butu // Black Rose
Margeritaville // Daniel Rae Costello